Learning Expeditions

The EMBA – Let's have a look at the Learning Expeditions

The learning expeditions during the Executive MBA are often referred to by students as the highlights of the study program. In short, but intense study visits, our award-winning partner universities in the United States, China, Israel, and Ghana provide deep learning experiences through a mix of inspiring lectures, case studies, live cases, and guest speakers. The focus of the learning expeditions is different in the two Executive MBA programs.

Executive MBA General Management with focus on «International Management»

Globalization does not mean that there are no differences in business practices – quite the contrary. To be successful in the future you have to understand the specific peculiarities of the respective economic areas and to master the most important cultural rules. During the Executive MBA, our course participants deepen their understanding of other cultural and economic areas. To achieve this, the program includes modules on international management on our campus in Zurich, supplemented by study trips abroad with company visits and teaching by renown local lecturers.

Yale University, New Haven (USA)
The Yale School of Management is located on Yale University campus in New Haven, Connecticut, two hours north of New York City. The academic content at the Yale School of Management is tailored to the needs of the Executive MBA of the University of Zurich and focuses on “Negotiation” and “Innovation Management”. This study tour complements the program in Zurich with insights into Anglo-Saxon management culture. Experienced Yale University professors deepen the management skills of our students in Yale University’s rich learning environment. Participants enjoy and experience the “American Way of Teaching” and benefit from the excellent application-oriented research at Yale University.

A report on the last study trip can be found here.

yale

«The mission of the Yale School of Management is to educate leaders for business and society.»

Excerpt from the mission statement of the Yale School of Management

Fudan University, Shanghai, China
The influence of China has been increasing steadily, at the same time the Chinese business culture is very different from ours. For these reasons, the Executive MBA of the University of Zurich visits the Chinese metropolis of Shanghai as part of a one-week study trip.

In order to gain the most authentic insight into the opportunities, dangers and dynamics of “Doing Business in China”, the course participants attend classes at the School of Management at Fudan University and attend networking events. Teaching by local lecturers focuses on General Management topics under the title “Characteristics of Business Management in China”.

Founded in 1905, Fudan University has more than 30,000 local and international students and is ranked among the top 3 universities in mainland China. The Executive Development Center of the School of Management offers exclusive management training and global consulting services for top executives. The Fudan School of Management is accredited by EQUIS and AACSB. In addition to working with the Executive MBA of the University of Zurich, the School of Management also cooperates with other well-known institutions such as the London Business School, MIT, or Washington University.

Through the study trip to China, our course participants gain insights into the largest Asian economy and experience the “Asia Growth Story” first-hand. The participants will also be enabled to see the current situation in China in a macroeconomic context and to understand the local market and management mechanisms.

A report on the last study trip can be found here.

shang

«We take great pride in the success achieved by the students of the Executive MBA of the University of Zurich and we look forward to continuing our positive relationship.»

Prof. Liu Jie, Director of the  Executive Development Center,
Fudan University

Optional study trip, Ghana
In addition to the two mandatory study trips to the US and China, the Executive MBA offers, should sufficient interest exist, another optional study trip to Ghana. This study tour, which takes place after the course modules towards the end of the program, is also open to our Alumni. The goal of this optional journey is to understand the opportunities and challenges of “doing business” within a West African emerging market with a different business culture. In addition to company visits and workshops with local entrepreneurs, there are also lectures at our partner institution, the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA) in the capital Accra.


A report on the last study trip can be found here.

Executive MBA General Management with focus on «Digital Transformation»

Global learning expeditions immerse you in the world’s most innovative hotspots. Each expedition will be hosted at reputable global universities such as Stanford, MIT, Tel Aviv University and Fudan University, so you get valuable insights from professors and researchers on the latest developments in bleeding edge technologies, innovation, intra- and entrepreneurship, and other key areas relevant to gain a competitive edge.

Moreover, you will meet, discuss and interact with executives of innovative global players, entrepreneurs, innovators, and other individuals who lead the way in digital transformation, innovation, and technological change.

US East and West Coast
You can read about entrepreneurship in a case and discuss innovation in a classroom but the only way to experience being on the cutting edge of business is to go to Silicon Valley. Here, you’ll have unfettered access to entrepreneurs and executives, learn about idea generation, start-ups, rapid growth, financing, IPOs, and leading explosive growth.

Discover the ecosystems that facilitate the entrepreneurial spirit, develop your innovation network, and discover the keys to building your innovative mind-set.

Immerse yourself in the unique ecosystem that combines interdisciplinary academic powerhouses like Stanford, Harvard and MIT and start-ups in life sciences and data analytics that deliver scientific breakthroughs and technological advances.

The US East Coast is also home to some of the best-known technology and biotech companies in the world, which have been operating as large enterprises for decades. Perhaps it is the Wall Street effect, but investors on the East Coast take a more hard-nosed approach to business. Discover the difference in pitching, negotiating and accelerating in the US East Coast.

Israel
Known as one of the most entrepreneurial countries, Israel receives the most start-up funding in the world after the United States. Despite having almost no natural resources and poor infrastructure, Israel emerged in the 1990s as a high technology powerhouse, becoming known as “Silicon Wadi.”

Here, you will access the effective and sustainable entrepreneurial methodologies used by established corporations to transform ideas into value generating products and services. You will be given state of the art models, theories and practical tools in fields of innovation and entrepreneurship, based on methodologies and insights that Israeli professionals and academics have developed over the years.

Meet with government and business executives and experience the ecosystem clustered around Tel Aviv University that drives entrepreneurship in the “Start-up Nation”.

China
With the new and emerging trends in e-commerce, automotive, e-payment, AI, Big Data, face recognition and other technologies, China is set to lead the way as it transforms its market, economy, and society into a global, financial, manufacturing, and cyber powerhouse. The “New China” will affect almost every region around the world, and every industry, both online and offline.

While the Chinese government continues to promote innovation by enhancing support for the commercialization of scientific and technological achievements, the environment is challenging and competition is fierce.

Get on-the-ground insights on the dynamic Chinese economy, markets and culture. You’ll learn from executives who demonstrate the grit and innovative spirit needed to thrive in this budding international center for innovation.

Switzerland
Switzerland is a thriving proving ground for start-ups and an innovation hub for digital, medical and financial technologies.

Here, diverse sectors of the economy come together to promote innovation. You will experience how businesses, governments and universities actively collaborate and exchange knowledge to expedite the transfer of research into marketable products and services.

Set against this backdrop, you will learn how to ideate and prototype your capstone project in an incubator environment under the guidance of leading innovators from Switzerland’s diverse sectors. You will also expand your understanding of the various factors in the innovation ecosystem that are required to launch successful breakthrough digital transformation initiatives.

Ghana (Optional)
We offer an additional optional learning expedition to Ghana before graduation in spring 2022. You will experience doing business in an emerging economy and learn about oppotunities and challenges in this market. The experience will include workshops and lectures with Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA) in Accra, company visits and live cases with local entrepreneurs.

Follow us on the social networks… or sign up for our Newsletter:

Data Protection Statement
This website uses cookies. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. Data Protection Statement
Accept

Auslandaufenthalte

Der EMBA – mit Blick auf die Auslandaufenthalte

Die Auslandsaufenthalte während des Executive MBA-Studiums werden von den Studierenden oft als die Highlights des Studienprogramms bezeichnet. In kurzen aber intensiven Studienaufenthalten vermitteln unsere ausgezeichneten Partner Universitäten in den USA, China, Israel und Ghana durch eine Mischung aus inspirierenden Vorlesungen, Fallstudien, Live Cases und Gastreferenten die themenbezogenen Lernschwerpunkte. Der Fokus der Reisen ist in den beiden Executive MBA-Programmen unterschiedlich.

Executive MBA General Management mit Schwerpunkt «Internationales Management»

Globalisierung meint nicht, dass es keine Unterschiede mehr gibt hinsichtlich der Geschäftspraktiken – im Gegenteil. In Zukunft erfolgreich zu sein, bedeutet, die spezifischen Eigenarten der jeweiligen Wirtschaftsräume zu verstehen und die wichtigsten kulturellen Regeln zu beherrschen. Unsere Kursteilnehmerinnen und Kursteilnehmer vertiefen deshalb während des Executive MBA ihr Verständnis für andere Kultur- und Wirtschaftsräume. Um dies zu erreichen, beinhaltet das Programm Module zu internationalem Management auf unserem Campus in Zürich, ergänzt durch Studienreisen ins Ausland mit Firmenbesuchen und Unterricht durch lokale Dozentinnen und Dozenten.

Yale University, New Haven (USA)
Die Yale School of Management befindet sich auf dem Campus der Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut, zwei Stunden nördlich von New York City. Die akademischen Inhalte an der Yale School of Management sind auf die Bedürfnisse des Executive MBA der Universität Zürich zugeschnitten und fokussieren auf «Negotiation» und «Innovation Management». Diese Studienreise ergänzt das Programm in Zürich mit Einblicken in die angelsächsische Managementkultur. Erfahrene Professoren der Yale University vertiefen die Managementkenntnisse unserer Kursteilnehmerinnen und Kursteilnehmer im reichhaltigen Lernumfeld der Yale University. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer geniessen und erleben dabei den «American Way of Teaching» und profitieren von der exzellenten anwendungsorientierten Forschung an der Yale University.

Ein Bericht zur letzten Studienreise finden Sie hier.

yale

«The mission of the Yale School of Management is to educate leaders for business and society.»

Auszug aus dem Mission Statement der Yale School of Management


Fudan University, Schanghai, China
Der Einfluss von China nimmt stetig zu, gleichzeitig unterscheidet sich die chinesische Geschäftskultur stark von der Unsrigen. Aus diesen Gründen besucht das Executive MBA der Universität Zürich die chinesische Millionenmetropole Schanghai im Rahmen einer einwöchigen Studienreise.

Um einen möglichst authentischen Einblick in die Chancen, Gefahren und Dynamik des «Doing Business in China» zu erhalten, besuchen die Kursteilnehmenden neben dem Unterricht an der School of Management der Fudan University auch verschiedene Firmen und nehmen an Networkinganlässen teil. Der Unterricht durch lokale Dozierende fokussiert auf verschiedene Themen des General Managements unter dem Titel «Characteristics of Business Management in China».

Die Fudan University wurde 1905 gegründet, hat mehr als 30 000 lokale und internationale Studierende, und wird zu den Top-3-Universitäten in Festlandchina gezählt. Das Executive Development Center der School of Management bietet exklusive Managementtrainings sowie weltweite Beratungsdienstleistungen für Top-Executives an. Die Fudan School of Management ist durch EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert. Neben der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Executive MBA der Universität Zürich kooperiert die School of Management auch mit anderen bekannten Institutionen wie der London Business School, dem MIT, oder der Washington University.

Durch die Studienreise nach China gewinnen unsere Kursteilnehmerinnen und Kursteilnehmer Einblicke in die grösste aufstrebende asiatische Volkswirtschaft und erleben die «Asia Growth Story» hautnah. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden zudem befähigt, die aktuelle Situation in China in einem gesamtwirtschaftlichen Kontext zu sehen und die lokalen Markt- und Managementmechanismen zu verstehen.

Ein Bericht zur letzten Studienreise finden Sie hier.

shang

«We take great pride in the success achieved by the students of the Executive MBA of the University of Zurich and we look forward to continuing our positive relationship.»

Prof. Liu Jie, Director of the  Executive Development Center, Fudan University

Optionale Studienreise, Ghana
Neben den zwei zum Programm gehörenden Studienreisen in die USA und nach China bietet der Executive MBA bei ausreichendem Interesse eine weitere, optionale Studienreise nach Ghana an. Diese im Anschluss an die Kursmodule stattfindende Studienreise ist auch offen für unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen. Ziel dieser optionalen Reise ist es, Chancen und Gefahren des «Doing Business» in einem westafrikanischen Schwellenland mit unterschiedlichen Geschäftskulturen zu verstehen. Neben Firmenbesuchen und Workshops mit lokalen Entrepreneurs stehen auch Vorlesungen an unserer Partnerinstitution, dem Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA) in der Hauptstadt Accra auf dem Programm.

Ein Bericht zur letzten Studienreise finden Sie hier.

Executive MBA General Management mit Schwerpunkt «Digitale Transformation»

Globale Studienreisen lassen Sie in die innovativsten Brennpunkte der Welt eintauchen. Jede Expedition wird mit renommierten Universitäten wie Stanford, MIT oder Fudan durchgeführt. So erhalten Sie wertvolle Einblicke von Professoren und Forschern in die neuesten Entwicklungen in Bezug auf Spitzentechnologien, Innovation, Start-Ups und Intrapreneurship und andere Schlüsselbereiche wie R&D, die für einen Wettbewerbsvorteil von Bedeutung sind.

Darüber hinaus treffen Sie Führungskräfte von innovativen Global Playern, Unternehmer, und Gründer, die bei der digitalen Transformation, Innovation und dem technologischem Wandel eine Vorreiterrolle einnehmen.

Ost- und Westküste der USA
Sie können über Unternehmertum Fallstudien lesen und Innovationen in einem Klassenzimmer besprechen, aber die beste Möglichkeit, auf dem neuesten Stand der der Entwicklung zu sein und Trends zu erfahren, ist ein Besuch im Silicon Valley. Hier haben Sie uneingeschränkten Zugang zu Unternehmern und Führungskräften, erfahren mehr über Ideenfindung, Start-ups, schnelles Skalieren, Finanzierung, Börsengänge und explosives Wachstum.

Entdecken Sie die Ökosysteme, die den Unternehmergeist fördern, entwickeln Sie Ihr Innovationsnetzwerk und entdecken Sie die Schlüssel zum Aufbau Ihres «Start-Up Mindsets».

Tauchen Sie ein in das einzigartige Ökosystem, das interdisziplinäre akademische Brutstätten wie Harvard, MIT und Start-ups im Bereich Life Sciences und Datenanalytik kombiniert, um wissenschaftliche Durchbrüche und technologischen Fortschritt zu erzielen.

An der Ostküste der USA befinden sich auch einige der bekanntesten Technologie- und Biotech-Unternehmen der Welt, die seit Jahrzehnten Marktführer sind. Vielleicht ist es der Wall Street-Effekt, aber die Anleger an der Ostküste verfolgen einen eher harten Ansatz im Unternehmertum. Entdecken Sie den Unterschied beim Pitching, Verhandeln und Skalieren an der US-Ostküste.

Israel
Israel, bekannt als eines der unternehmerischsten Länder der Welt, erhält nach den USA die weltweit größte Anschubfinanzierung für junge Unternehmen. Obwohl es in Israel fast keine natürlichen Ressourcen und eine schlechte Infrastruktur gab, entwickelte sich Israel in den 1990er Jahren zum «Hightech Powerhouse» und wurde als „Silicon Wadi“ bekannt.

Sie lernen Modelle, Theorien und praktische Werkzeuge in den Bereichen Innovation und Unternehmertum, basierend auf Methoden und Erkenntnissen, die die israelischen Fachleute und Akademiker im Laufe der Jahre entwickelt haben.

Sie treffen Führungspersonen aus Regierung und Unternehmen und Sie erfahren Sie das Ökosystem, das das Unternehmertum in der „Start-up-Nation“ vorantreibt.

China
Verstehen Sie Geschäfte mit der neuen Supermacht im digitalen Zeitalter der Welt zu machen.

Mit den neuen und sich gerade erst abzeichnenden Trends in den Bereichen E-Commerce, Automotive, E-Payment, AI, Big Data, Gesichtserkennung und anderen Technologien wird China die Führung übernehmen, wenn es seinen Markt, seine Wirtschaft und seine Gesellschaft in ein globales «Powerhouse» verwandelt. Das „neue China“ wird nahezu alle Regionen der Welt und jede Branche, sowohl online als auch offline tangieren.

Die chinesische Regierung fördert Innovation, indem sie die Vermarktung wissenschaftlicher und technologischer Errungenschaften verstärkt und unterstützt, jedoch ist das Umfeld herausfordernd und der globale Wettbewerb ist hart.

Holen Sie sich vor Ort Einblicke in die dynamische chinesische Wirtschaft, Märkte und in Chinas Kultur. Sie werden Führungskräfte kennen lernen, die in diesem aufstrebenden internationalen Innovationszentrum den nötigen Mut und Innovationsgeist zeigen.

Schweiz
Die Schweiz ist ein florierendes «Testgelände» für Start-ups und ein Innovationszentrum für digitale, medizinische und finanzielle Technologien.

Hier kommen verschiedene Wirtschaftssektoren und top ausgebildete Fachleute zusammen, um Innovationen zu fördern. Sie erfahren, wie Unternehmen, Regierungen und Universitäten aktiv zusammenarbeiten und Wissen austauschen, um den Transfer von Forschung zu marktfähigen Produkten und Dienstleistungen zu beschleunigen.

Folgen Sie uns in den sozialen Netzwerken… …oder tragen Sie sich in unseren
Newsletter ein:

Datenschutzerklärung
Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung dieser Website sind Sie mit dem Einsatz von Cookies einverstanden. Datenschutzerklärung
Akzeptieren